writer ‘in situ’

workspace23.jpg

so here is a picture of me where I work/how I work (sorry about the size of photo)…

books on my desk: John Thompson, Collected Poems and Translations (Anne Simpson told me I should write one of my characters in ghazal… I’m mystified, don’t know where to begin); Verlaine, Selected poems (a friend recommended); Alistair MacLeod, No Great Mischief (he supplied some gaelic for my ms.); Elizabeth Hay, Garbo Laughs (haven’t read it, my mother gave it to me); Amanda LaMarsh, The Clichest (she was at Banff with me, she’s brilliant); Ted Hughes collected poems (Tim Bowling and Don MacKay told me to read Hughs, said my work had something in common with his); Carla Funk, Head Full of Sand (haven’t read yet); Don MacKay, Strike/Slip (the master, the Don… hoping some brilliance will rub off on my words); U.A. Fanthorpe Collected Poems (feel kinship to U.A.); Anne Simpson Loop (I ponder her); Baudelaire, The Flowers of Evil (friend recommendation); V. Sackville-West, The Land, Sissinghurst (The Land inspired the shape of The Year/Quintet); Federico Garcia Lorca, Poesies III (a gift waiting to be mailed); The 2007 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

…taped to my lamp, a quote from an email sent to me from the Scottish sculptor Frank Pottinger, after I wrote to him in discouragement…

“But we’re stuck with it Suzanne and we have to get on with it and take heart from past successes… and we’ve both had these! … in a materialistic society, good artists are those who ‘re-enchant’ ordinary things”

I read that quote to myself every day.

beside my desk
one beautiful fountain pen
books: Gregory Scofield, Love Medicine and Other Songs (love poems… just how does one write them and should one?); Ruth Padel, The Poem and the Journey (gift from Frank P); Lorca; Peter Abs, The Flowering of Flint (gift, inspiration); Helen Humphreys, Wild dogs;
Flamenco videos, files, Bescherelle, printer

beneath my desk
hatbox with The Year/Quintet ms., Letters from Edinburgh m.s. (much neglected)

walls
ms., photos, bullfight posters from 2007 season, my Writing 11 report, first piece ever published (age 8)…

One thought on “writer ‘in situ’

Leave a Reply

